物联网自动化互操作性测试:您可能会错过的巨大机会

作者: Nextgen | 日期: 2020年12月23日 | 分类: 博客文章

< 所有文章

作为第四次工业革命和消费电子产品繁荣背后的驱动力,物联网的增长势头十分迅猛。

“这些数字是了不起的”。根据麦肯锡预测,到2023年,全球将有430亿台物联网设备投入市场。这意味着这个星球上的每个人平均都拥有5个以上的连接设备。

到同年,思科预计50%的连接设备将是机器对机器(M2M)。到2021年底,微软预计94%的企业将在他们的流程中使用物联网。

如此多设备的激增将对质量保证部门造成极大的考验。那些完全依赖手动测试的公司将面临巨大的测试压力。因为在维护和加速产品上市的同时,需要确保与大量设备的互操作性,压力可想而知。

物联网自动化互操作性测试将是唯一可行的前进方案,它为所有相关方带来重大利好。

automated-iot-interoperability-testing-opportunities-featured

本文列出14个具有前景的机会。

经济投入

  1. 经过最初需要资金来购买自动化平台和员工培训的投资期后,较低的测试成本很快得以显现。

  2. 使用更可靠的自动化测试产品,将极大可能减少客户流失,并更好提高终端用户满意度。在品牌资产不变的情况下,维护现有客户的成本降低了。

  3. 自动化互操作性测试使制造商有机会大幅降低人力资源成本。测试工程师的薪水往往不低。由于自动化的可扩展性,这避免了在测试需求增加时需要招聘额外员工。

  4. 使用自动化测试的制造商将收到更少的客户投诉。这极大的节省了管理、处理和解决消费者售后问题所需的资源。

  5. 将带有缺陷的产品投入市场可能会造成品牌声誉危机。除了难以留住现有客户外,还很难吸引新用户。股价和公司估值也会受到直接影响,而自动化测试可以降低这些风险。

流程机会

  1. 更快的测试周期是自动化互操作性测试的一大好处。自动化可确保您在生产期限内完成生产,并防止您在日益严峻的市场中被竞争对手超越。

  2. 自动化测试工具在缺陷分析中提供了更高的精准度。它可以直接报告错误,使讨论关于bug归属方的争论成为遥远的记忆。你可以更快地达成解决方案,继续产品开发,而不是与第三方供应商争论到底是哪方出的问题。

  3. 保证一致性是另一显著优势。建立一个自动化的测试需要对测试进行非常严格的定义。它消除了人为错误,每次测试都是以完全相同的方式进行的,所有结果都可以进行比较和分析。

  4. 对于手动测试,每次测试都需要安排至少一名测试工程师,现实往往需要更多测试人员。这意味着测试程序是线性的。然而,自动化可以使测试同时进行,而不需要额外的人员。这将迅速扩展QA团队的能力,并帮助他们达到测试目标。

测试机会

  1. 对于手动测试人员来说,测试复杂性是重大挑战。当设备同时做几件事时,人类就很难自信地确定故障所在。这就是为什么手动测试程序会尽可能消除一个变量之外的所有变量。自动化使更复杂的测试场景能够更轻松地完成,从而提供更好的测试多样性和更高的测试覆盖率。

  2. 不同地区的产品通常会面临不同的互操作性需求。手机和汽车信息娱乐系统是日本、韩国、中国、印度、拉丁美洲和北美等市场独家发布产品的两大主要领域。因此,必须确保其与本地产品的兼容性,而自动化物联网测试是实现这一目标的最快和最有效的方法。

  3. 自动化测试通过快速测试所有产品特性和功能,是测试无线更新的理想选择。在发布之前对这些更新进行严格的检查是至关重要的,因为向现有用户提供有问题的无线更新后果既是不可接受,又具有极大的破坏性。

  4. 如果您的QA团队分布在世界不同区域,那么自动化测试将是确保每个团队完成工作一致性的最佳方法。这带来了真正的价值,因为它是对保持市场速度的重要贡献。

  5. 自动测试允许制造商在测试程序期间访问大量的设备库。这将尽可能广泛地覆盖您的测试结果,让错误在产品在发布之前快速被发现,这一点至关重要。

自动化测试是唯一适合未来的选择

智能城市、智能家居、智能工厂:我们生活的方方面面在都在被科技时刻牵动,这在几十年前是难以想象的。

现在毋庸置疑的是联网设备需求的持续增长,尤其是随着5G技术从过去的期待到如今逐步走向日常的现实。无论如何,制造商必须想办法跟上,实现自动化将是关键。

自动化测试在测试周期的所有领域都提供了显著的好处。它保持了您的竞争优势,提高消费者对产品的信心,并允许在需要时扩展测试。这也会对您的财务前景产生积极影响。

当然,手动测试将保持一定程度的重要性。但只要有可能,自动化测试都是具备前瞻性的解决方案,因为它提供的机会和好处是如此明显和可预测的。

Automated IoT Interoperability Testing: The Huge Opportunities You Could Be Missing Out On

By: Nextgen | On: Sep 07, 2020 | In: Blog Posts

< All posts

As the driving force behind the Fourth Industrial Revolution and a boom in consumer electronics, IoT growth is surging.

The figures are remarkable. McKinsey estimates that 43 billion IoT devices will be in circulation by 2023. That’s more than five connected devices for every person on the planet.

By the same year, Cisco expects that 50% of all connected devices will be machine to machine (M2M). By the end of 2021, Microsoft assesses that 94% of businesses will be using IoT in their processes.

The proliferation of so many devices will test QA departments to their limits. Those who operate entirely through manual testing are unlikely to be able to manage the workload. The pressure of ensuring interoperability with a huge range of devices, while maintaining or accelerating speed to market, will simply be too great.

Automated IoT interoperability testing will be the only feasible way forward – and one that delivers significant benefits to all concerned. 

automated-iot-interoperability-testing-opportunities-featured

Here are 14 powerful opportunities it unlocks.

Financial Opportunities

  1. Automation delivers significantly reduced costs per test. After an initial investment period, where funds are needed to secure an automation platform and staff training, the lower test costs soon accelerate into view.

  2. When products are subject to the more robust testing offered by automation, they are less likely to result in customer churn and more likely to increase end-user satisfaction levels. With brand equity intact, the cost of keeping existing customers is lowered.

  3. Automated interoperability testing gives manufacturers the chance to significantly reduce HR costs. Test engineers command healthy salaries. Because it is scalable, automation avoids the need to have to recruit extra staff when testing demands increase.

  4. Manufacturers using automated testing experience fewer customer service issues. This saves on the resources needed to manage, process and resolve issues from unsatisfied consumers.

  5. Products released to market with inherent flaws can have a costly reputational impact. As well as making it harder to retain existing customers, it can become difficult to attract new users to your brand. Share prices and company valuations can also be directly affected. Automation lowers these risks.

Process Opportunities

  1. Faster cycle times are a considerable benefit of automated interoperability testing. Automation helps to ensure you meet production deadlines and prevents you from being outpaced by competitors in an increasingly tough market.

  2. Automated testing tools provide much more precision in their defect analyses. They deliver direct reporting of faults, making disputes over bug accountability a distant memory. Instead of battling with third-party suppliers over what element is at fault, you can reach resolutions sooner and continue your product’s development.

  3. Guaranteed consistency is another significant advantage. Setting up an automated test involves the test being incredibly tightly defined. It also eliminates human error, so every test is conducted in exactly the same manner and all results can be compared and analysed with confidence.

  4. With manual testing, each test requires the attention of at least one test engineer – and often more. This means a testing programme can only ever be linear. Automated testing, meanwhile, can deliver simultaneous tests without the need for extra staffing. This rapidly expands the capabilities of the QA function and helps them hit their testing targets.

Testing Opportunities

  1. Complexity is a significant challenge for manual testers. When devices are capable of doing several things at once, it becomes difficult for a human to confidently determine exactly where a fault lies. That’s why manual tester processes try to eliminate all but one variable wherever possible. Automation enables much more complex testing scenarios to be completed with ease, providing a greater diversity of testing and increased test coverage.

  2. Products will often face different interoperability demands depending on the region in which they are being released. Phones and car infotainment systems are two major areas where exclusive releases are made in markets such as Japan, Korea, China, India, Latin America and North America. So local product compatibility has to be assured, and automated IoT testing is the quickest and most effective way to do so.

  3. Automated testing is ideal for testing over-the-air updates by quickly testing all product features and capabilities. It is critical these are robustly examined before being released, because the consequences of problematic over-the-air-updates being delivered to existing users are both challenging and hugely damaging.

  4. If you have several QA teams operating around the world, automated testing is the best way to ensure consistency in the work each team completes. This delivers genuine value, because it is another important contribution to maintaining speed to market.

  5. Automated testing allows for manufacturers to access a considerable device library during their testing programmes. This gives the widest possible coverage to your testing results, finding bugs quickly and – crucially – before a product is released.

Automated Testing Is the Only Option Fit for the Future

Smart cities, smart home, smart factories: every aspect of our lives is being touched by technology in ways unimaginable only decades ago.

It is now unquestionable that the demand for connected devices is going to grow, especially as 5G moves from future promise to day-to-day reality. Somehow, manufacturers must find a way to keep up – and automation will be critical.

Automated testing offers significant benefits across all areas of the testing cycle. It maintains your competitive advantage, delivers increased product confidence and allows for testing to be scaled as and when it is needed. It also positively impacts your financial outlook.

Of course, manual testing will maintain some level of importance. But wherever possible, automated testing is the forward-looking solution because the opportunities it provides are so evident and measurably beneficial.

New call-to-action

Share this post on:

Share on facebook

Share on linkedin

Share on twitter