自动化测试的五大可测量好处

作者: Nextgen | 日期: 2020年12月23日 | 分类: 博客文章

< 所有文章

自动化测试的普及已是现实。根据Tricentis的资料显示,40%的组织已经自动化了超过30%的测试。在一些公司,进展更为明显。

这趋势在完成某类型测试的组织中尤其普遍。回归测试、重复执行、负载测试、性能测试和跨浏览器测试是五种最流行的自动化测试类型。

 理解为什么出现这种情况,我们就必须研究自动化测试的可衡量的好处。以下是自动化的五大优势:

top-measurable-benefits-automated-testing

1. 降低每次测试的成本

建立每一个过程的成本是很复杂的。凯捷咨询公司称,“敏捷和DevOps时代的到来只会增加困难。

 许多公司也都经历了一段时间的重大测试投资。机器人过程自动化、机器学习和人工智能的实现和使用都会产生初始的前期成本。

 但一旦这些初始成本得以控制,就可以获得可观的收益。自动化测试计划的精度和定义的提高为低成本市场创造了外包机会。这也意味着测试可以更快地完成。

 或许这就是为什么凯捷咨询公司61%的受访者表示,自动化测试降低了成本,而两年前这一比例仅为39%

2. 降低人力资源成本

有经验和高技能的软件工程师的薪水要求很高。许多团队人数都控制在50-100人,每个人都要求一份全方位的薪水和福利。

 硅谷的测试工程师是世界上薪酬最高的人群之一,据业内人士预计,他们通常会获得高达6位数的待遇。但无论一个公司的总部设立在哪里,测试工程师通常都会偏高。

 自动化测试使公司能够减少测试团队的规模。这意味着,资金可以被重新投放到其他投资领域,也可以加入到企业的存储资金中。它还消除了另一种代价高昂的情况:在不需要测试的情况下无需额外支付人工成本。

3. 更快的测试周期

速度是自动化测试的主要优势之一。无需人工完成和记录每个测试,这让更快的测试周期成为标准。

 近三分之二的Tricentis受访者(63%)认为这是他们通过自动化测试实现的最明显的好处。

 这种好处体现在两个方面。

 首先,实际测试的速度提高了。尤其在复杂的测试场景中,自动化可以相对容易地处理高水平的复杂性。使用手动方法进行相同的测试通常会导致几个工程师参与其中,从而进一步减慢测试过程。

 其次,自动化允许7*24的测试周期。采用自动化测试的组织不再依赖于测试工程师的工作时间和轮班模式。办公时间的工作效率成了遥远的记忆。

 综合起来,这两个因素是非常强大的。自动化测试意味着比手动测试更快地发现更多的bug。这也意味着产品上市时间可以提前,这给那些更广泛采用自动化技术的企业带来竞争优势。

4. 更全面的覆盖

自动化测试明显提高了测试能力的深度和复杂性。凯捷公司(Capgemini)近七成的受访者,认为自动化提供了更好的测试覆盖率

例如,在车内信息娱乐系统的使用案例测试中,电话、音乐流和卫星导航都可以同时进行。

通过自动化测试,公司能够在任何给定的测试场景中同时进行更多的事情。相反,手动测试中的变量必须保持在绝对最小值,以便测试工程师正确识别哪个操作产生了哪个结果。

自动化测试产生的日志和bug报告在战略上也很有价值。它们有助于确定供应链中的责任,并加快解决已发现问题的过程。

5. 保持一致性

自动化精确地定义了测试方法,让整个过程变得更加健壮。这使得地理位置遥远的团队能够在整个组织中以相同的方式工作,即使某个团队的产品洞察力和经验都不如其他站点的团队执行出来的测试结果也相差无几。

 相反,如果是进行手动测试,那么这不仅会影响测试过程,还会影响后续的分析。而自动化因为有了严格定义的测试方法,跨测试站点比较数据就容易多了。因此,从圣保罗工程师那里收集的数据可以很容易地与新加坡的测试结果进行比较。自动化意味着减少地理分散的潜在困难,同时增加控制力和一致性。

自动化测试是一个长期的解决方案

“随着组织获得专业知识和经验,他们将能够在未来几年更成功地利用自动化。”—凯捷

自动化测试不是灵丹妙药。把它引入你的企业并不能一蹴而就地解决你的所有问题。与其他任何事物一样,也会伴随着固有的挑战

寻找具有适当技能的员工将是一个早期需解决的问题。留住这些人才,并不断接受培训,以确保他们能够在各自领域的最前线开展工作,这将需要持续的努力和投资。

 但是,一个组织在测试自动化方面越进步,好处就越明显。

 在自动化还没有占到测试的10%的企业中,其优势仍然显而易见。凯捷的受访者认为更快的测试周期(46%),改进的测试覆盖率(38%)和更早地发现错误(20%)。

 但是,当在测试自动化程度超过50%的组织调查中,更快的测试周期(88%)、改进的测试覆盖率(71%)和更早地发现错误(68%),其满意度大幅增加。

 如果您正处于自动化之旅的开始阶段,那么这一点非常重要,因为此时所花费的精力和投资都可能很高,但积极的结果和明显的竞争优势很快就会属于你。

Top 5 Measurable Benefits of Automated Testing

By: Nextgen | On: Aug 20, 2020 | In: Blog Posts

< All posts

The widespread adoption of automated testing is no longer in doubt. Indeed, 40 percent of organisations have already automated more than 30 percent of their testing, according to Tricentis.

In some organisations, progress is even more stark. Twenty-four percent of organisations use automated testing for more than 50 percent of their testing. Manual testing is retreating from its longstanding position of dominance, as a shift towards a hybrid approach of manual and automated testing is taking place in many organisations.

These trends are particularly prevalent among organisations completing certain types of testing. Regression testing, repeated execution, load testing, performance testing and cross-browser testing are the five most popular types of automated testing.

To understand why this is happening, we must examine the measurable benefits of automated testing. These are the top five advantages of automation:

top-measurable-benefits-automated-testing

1. Lower Costs Per Test

Establishing a true cost per test is a complex process. The “coming of age of agile and DevOps” only adds to the difficulties, according to Capgemini.

Many organisations have also gone through a period of significant testing investment. The implementation and use of robotic process automation, machine learning and artificial intelligence all create initial upfront costs.

But once those initial costs are navigated, significant gains are available. The increased precision and definition of automated testing plans creates outsourcing opportunities to lower cost markets. It also means tests can be completed faster.

Perhaps that’s why 61 percent of Capgemini respondents said automated testing had delivered a reduction in costs – up from just 39 per cent two years earlier.

2. Reduced HR Costs

Salary demands of experienced and highly-skilled software engineers are substantial. Many teams are 50-100 strong, with each individual able to demand a comprehensive package of salary and benefits.

Test engineers in Silicon Valley are among the world’s highest paid, with industry expectations seeing them routinely collecting strong six-figure deals. But wherever an organisation is based, test engineers will not be cheap.

Automated testing enables companies to reduce the size of their testing team. This means funds can either be redirected into other investments or added into the business’s bottom line. It also eliminates another costly situation: paying testing staff salaries when no testing is required.

3. Faster Testing Cycles

Speed is one of the major advantages of automated testing. Without the need for humans to manually complete and record each test, faster testing cycles become the norm.

Almost two-thirds of Tricentis respondents (63 percent) cited this as the most obvious benefit they had realised through automated testing.

This benefit manifests itself in two ways.

First, the speed of the actual test is quicker. This is especially relevant in complicated testing scenarios, because automation can handle high levels of complexity with relative ease. Undertaking the same test with a manual approach can often lead to several engineers being involved, slowing the process even further.

Second, automation allows for 24/7 testing cycles. Organisations adopting automated testing are no longer reliant on the working hours and shift patterns of their test engineers. Office-hours-only productivity becomes a distant memory.

Combined, these two factors are extremely powerful. Automated testing means more bugs are found more quickly than a manual equivalent. It also means a faster time-to-market, giving competitive advantages to those more widely adopting automation.

4. More Ground Covered

Automated testing noticeably enhances the depth and complexity of testing capability. Just ask the almost seven in 10 Capgemini respondents who said automation had delivered “better test coverage”.

Consider, for example, the potential use cases of an in-vehicle infotainment system. Phone calls, music streaming and satellite navigation could all be happening at once.

With automated testing, organisations are able to have more things happening simultaneously in any given test scenario. In contrast, variables in manual testing have to be kept to an absolute minimum in order for test engineers to correctly identify which action is producing which result.

The resulting logs and bug reports produced by automated testing are also strategically valuable. They help to determine accountability in the supply chain and quicken the process of fixing identified problems.

5.  Retaining Control and Consistency

Because automation so precisely defines test methodologies, the entire process becomes much more robust. This enables geographically remote teams to work in a consistent fashion across an organisation, even if any individual team has less product insight and experience than its counterparts at other sites.

This impacts not just on the testing process, but also on any subsequent analysis. With tightly defined test methodologies, it is much easier to compare data across test sites. So data gathered from engineers in Sao Paulo can be readily compared with the results of testing in Singapore. Automation means the potential difficulties of geographic dispersion are reduced, while control and consistency are increased.

Automated Testing Is a Long-Term Solution 

“As organisations gain in expertise and maturity, they will be able to leverage automation much more successfully in the years to come.” - Capgemini

Automated testing is not a silver bullet. Introducing it into your business will not eradicate all your problems overnight. Like anything, it comes with inherent challenges. 

Finding staff with appropriate skills will be an early issue. Retaining those staff, with ongoing training to ensure they are able to operate at the top of their field, will require continuous effort and investment.

But the further an organisation progresses with test automation, the clearer the benefits become.

Of businesses where automation does not yet account for 10 percent of its testing, the advantages are still visible. Faster testing cycles (46 percent), improved test coverage (38 percent) and catching bugs earlier (20 percent) are all identified by Capgemini respondents.

But when organisations with more than 50 percent test automation are questioned, the noticed benefits increase sharply across faster testing cycles (88 per cent), improved test coverage (71 percent) and catching bugs earlier (68 per cent).

This is important to remember if you are at the start of your automation journey, when expended effort and investment can both seem high. Positive results and clear competitive advantages will soon be yours.

New call-to-action

Share this post on:

Share on facebook

Share on linkedin

Share on twitter