QA团队如何使用自动化互操作性测试来达到目标

作者: Nextgen | 日期: 2020年12月23日 | 分类: 博客文章

< 所有文章

时至今日,质量保证的角色已悄然发生了改变,它的战略地位日益突出,也引起各界更广泛的重视,现在它甚至对制造商的持续成功起到至关重要的作用。在凯捷咨询公司的评估中,它已经“从单纯的发现缺陷发展成为客户满意度和业务成果的推动者之一”。

这反映在对QA团队越来越高的要求上,如今的执行管理层看到了资源充足的质量保证团队的潜在影响,并制定了相应的目标。

质量保证团队的五大主要目标:

  • 产品上线前的缺陷检测
  • 确保终端用户满意
  • 促进业务增长和业务成果
  • 提高软件或产品的质量
  • 保护公司的企业形象和品牌

面对这些日益增长的压力,QA的领导者们都在寻找每一种可能的优势。当你的任务与确保可测量的业务增长挂钩时,您所使用的工具必然十分关键。

帮助实现上述五大目标的最好工具是自动化

QA-teams-hit-their-targets-featured

自动化互操作性测试为质量保证团队提供了三大好处:

1. 提高测试速度

如果测试速度加快了,那意味着在限定的时候内可以完成更多的测试。因此,也不必担心产品是否有足够的测试来发现潜在问题,会不会对品牌造成负面影响。

而,速度快是自动化互操作性测试的核心承诺。

当然,在引入自动化测试前,需要考虑初始成本(时间和财务成本)。首先需要寻找适合的测试平台,然后接受使用培训,而且在每次测试前,必须花费时间来设计测试和编写测试用例(尽管人工智能和机器学习在帮助形成数据模型方面都扮演着越来越重要的角色)。

然而,一旦这些早期投资被投入后,自动化的优势很快就会显现出来。

 除了更快的测试外,自动化测试可以实现7*24小时全天候运行。这消除了与手动测试的限制-即测试只能在工作时间进行。

 自动化还降低了每次测试的成本。但更重要的是,它是可扩展的。当测试需求增加时,自动化测试可以毫无压力应对。相同的场景,手动测试团队面临必须找到额外的资源或招募新的团队成员来满足需求。自动化在这里的优势是防止团队规模过大化和确保资源始终可用以支持持续测试。

 更长远来讲,自动化测试降低了公司被竞争对手超越的概率。因为竞争激烈,争分夺秒的市场,推迟发布新产品可能会对产品声誉和业务产生重大影响。

2. 强大的测试覆盖率

自动化可以轻松处理更广泛的测试场景,这对于具备多个功能或同时执行多个操作的设备来说,至关重要。它与手动测试形成了明显的对比,在手动测试中,测试人员每次测试都尽可能以最少的变量来最大限度提高识别准确故障的概率。

 自动化平台另一优势是能够生成详细的错误报告和日志记录,这有助于确保整个供应链的责任。通过详细记录测试过程中发现错误的具体位置,它可以明确出现错误的责任方。这可以作为解决问题的强大动力。此外,自动化精确重复测试场景的能力有助于快速验证bug是否已被真正修复。

 自动化测试确保所有测试都以相同的方式进行,因为测试方法是被精确地定义,这保证了全球测试的一致性。

 因此,公司可以分析来自不同地区测试点的数据,而不必担心实际测试之间的差异。避免地理上的分散是质量保证团队协调大规模测试计划的一大好处。

 自动化测试的最后一个优势是满足消费者的高期望。对于汽车和消费类电子产品等高价产品,只有自动化才能提供必要的深度测试,以确保产品在发布前及时发现并修复重大缺陷。OTA更新也可以使用自动化测试,从而在公司和可能造成名誉损失的影响中提供另一张安全网。

3.提高按时完成任务的能力

自动化测试平台的使用实现了手动测试不可能完成(或不现实)的任务。例如,设备库可以被轻易管理和维护,也可以被快速添加到自动化测试计划和测试集成中,以实现其最大的覆盖率。

 

此外,自动化提供了更短的测试周期,这得益于全天候7*24的测试能力,它比手动测试更快、更可靠地发现和记录更多的错误,从而实现了一次正确,每次都正确的测试过程。

 

在质量保证功能中引入自动化测试还可以提高工作场所的积极性。测试工程师喜欢他们的工作,并为他们的贡献感到自豪,因为他们知道产品不会引起市场负面评价的情况下上市。他们在使用最新和最好的测试工具时也会感到好奇和兴奋。这有助于创建一个让您所在行业的顶级质量保证执行者感到舒适的环境。

迈出第一步,最大限度地发挥你的能力

任何QA负责人都能够阐述自动化互操作性测试带来的好处。但有越来越多的证据表明,高管其实也很欣赏这些优势。

 来自Tricentis的研究发现,24%的公司已经自动化了超过50%的测试。该公司预计,在接下来的12个月里,这一数字将升至44%

 超过六成的受访者表示,自动化测试带来了更快的测试周期和更高的测试效率。超过一半的人说他们的测试覆盖率已经提高了,41%的人说自动化帮助他们更早地发现了错误。

 随着质量保证团队在企业的长期成功中扮演着越来越重要的角色,自动化只会继续增长。它将从回归测试和重复执行到负载测试、性能测试和压力测试等领域取得进展,从而生产出满足消费者需求的优质产品。

 毕竟忽视自动化测试的风险实在太大了。

How QA Teams Use Automated Interoperability Testing To Hit Their Targets

By: Nextgen | On: Sep 02, 2020 | In: Blog Posts

< All posts

The role of quality assurance has changed. Its strategic prominence has grown, its function is more widely appreciated and it is now crucial to a manufacturer’s ongoing success. It has, in the assessment of Capgemini, evolved “from mere defect finding to one of being an enabler of customer satisfaction and business outcomes”.

This is reflected in the increasing demands being placed on QA teams. Executive management today sees the potential impact of a well-resourced QA team and sets objectives to match.

The top five goals given to QA teams are to:

  • Detect defects before products go live
  • Ensure end-user satisfaction
  • Contribute to business growth and business outcomes
  • Increase the quality of the software or product
  • Protect the company’s corporate image and branding

Faced with these growing pressures, it is little wonder QA leaders are seeking every possible advantage. When you are tasked with securing measurable business growth, your toolset is crucial.

The single biggest tool to help achieve each of the five goals outlined above is automation

QA-teams-hit-their-targets-featured

Automated interoperability testing offers three main benefits to QA teams:

1. Increased Speed Of Testing

If testing can be quickened, it follows that more tests can be completed in a given timeframe. As a result, more products can be shipped without fear of negative consequences for brand equity.

Faster processes are a core promise of automated interoperability testing.

Of course, there are initial costs – both time and financial – when you introduce automated testing. A testing platform must be sourced. Appropriate training must be provided. And with each test, time must be spent devising and codifying the test (although artificial intelligence and machine learning are both playing an increasing role in helping to shape data models).

However, the advantages of automation soon emerge once those early investments have been navigated.

As well as quicker tests, automated testing can operate on a 24/7 basis. This eliminates the restrictions associated with manual testing, where tests can only be conducted during working hours.

Automation also delivers lower costs per test. But even more importantly, it is scalable. When testing demands grow, automated testing can cope without issue. If a manual testing team is faced with the same scenario, it must find extra resources and recruit new team members to increase capacity. Automation’s advantage here is key to prevent overwhelming test teams and ensures that resources are always available to support ongoing operational success.

Finally, automated testing minimises the chance of a company being outpaced by competitors. Delayed releases can have significant reputational and business impacts.

With automated testing in its armoury, a QA team is well positioned for success.

2. Robust Testing Coverage

Automation enables increased test coverage. More extensive test scenarios can be handled with ease. This is crucial for devices where several functions or operations  might be happening simultaneously. It also contrasts significantly with manual testing, where testers will maximise their chances of identifying the precise fault by testing the minimum possible number of variables at any one time.

The detailed bug reporting and logging generated by automation platforms is another major benefit. It helps to ensure accountability throughout the supply chain. By making clear where the responsibility lies for fixing bugs found during the testing process, it acts as a powerful motivator in resolving issues. Furthermore, the ability of automated testing to precisely repeat test scenarios helps to quickly validate that bugs have truly been fixed.

Robust testing is also a by-product of consistency in the testing process. Automated testing ensures all tests are carried out identically, because the test methodologies are defined with such precision. This guarantees worldwide consistency in testing.

As a result, companies can reliably analyse data from test sites on different continents without fear of discrepancies between the actual tests. Avoiding geographic dispersion is a major benefit for QA leaders coordinating a widescale testing programme.

Meeting high consumer expectations is the final element of automation’s capacity to deliver more robust testing coverage. With high-price items such as cars and consumer electronics, only automation can offer the requisite depth of testing needed to ensure significant bugs are found and fixed before release. Over-the-air updates can also be tested using automation, providing another safety net between a company and potentially harmful reputational impacts.

3. Improved Ability To Hit Deadlines

The use of an automated testing platform facilitates things that are simply not possible – or at the very least not realistic – through manual testing. Device libraries, for example, are easily managed and maintained and can be quickly integrated with automated testing schedules and processes for maximum coverage.

Furthermore, automation delivers better test cycle times thanks to 24/7 test capabilities and its ability to find and log more bugs quicker and more reliably than manual testing, enabling ‘right first time, and every time’ test processes.

Introducing automated testing to your QA function also delivers increased workplace motivation. Test engineers enjoy their work and take pride in their contributions, knowing products do not go to market in a state that generates consistently bad reviews. They also experience curiosity and excitement at working with the newest and best testing tools. This helps to create an environment where your industry’s top QA performers feel comfortable.

Take the First Step to Maximising Your Capabilities

Any QA leader will expound the benefits of automated interoperability testing. But there is now increasing evidence that C-suite executives are appreciating the advantages, too.

Research from Tricentis found 24% of companies had automated more than 50% of their testing. It expected that figure to rise to 44% over the following 12 months.

More than six in 10 respondents reported that automated testing had delivered faster testing cycles and increased testing efficiency. Over half said their testing coverage had improved, and 41% said automation had helped them to find bugs earlier.

With QA teams taking an increasingly important role in a business’s long-term success, automation will only continue to grow. It will advance in areas ranging from regression testing and repeated execution through to load testing, performance testing and stress testing, making robust products that meet consumer demands.

The risks of ignoring automated testing are simply too great.

New call-to-action

Share this post on:

Share on facebook

Share on linkedin

Share on twitter