案例分析:Android Auto压力测试

作者: Nextgen | 日期: 2020年12月23日 | 分类: 案例分析

< 所有文章

 

一家大型汽车OEM如何通过使用自动Android Auto “压力测试”解决连接问题。

Android Auto是谷歌公司开发的移动屏幕投影技术,它可以把安卓设备的功能和应用程序映射到车载信息娱乐系统。

一家领先的汽车原始设备制造商(OEM)收到了客户对其Android Auto车载信息娱乐系统的反馈,表明用户在连接安卓手机,将Android Auto功能与车载同步时遇到问题。详细的消费者报告反馈信息娱乐系统并不是总能够检测到手机连接Android Auto启用的USB端口以启动Android Auto功能。

根据深度的消费者调查报告,在Android Auto会话期间,从汽车发起的呼出通话无法建立上行音频,这意味着被呼叫方在接听电话时无法听到呼叫方的任何音频。

OEM使用Nextgen ATAM 自动化方案调查用户反馈,通过部署压力测试探索Android Auto连接的健壮性以及关键功能的性能,如呼叫和音频路径。ATAM通过连接和断开多个连接的安卓手机来执行Android Auto USB连接的自动测试。ATAM测试设置还配置为在通话中监控音频质量和路径、音频大小、失真以及小于10ms的音频流丢失。

ATAM详细捕获测试期间发生的任何意外问题,收集和整理详细表明故障具体情况的日志。在本例中,ATAM记录USB协议连接和电压、音频系统和移动设备HCI日志、网络连接、蓝牙和Wi-Fi活动,从而创建完整用于调试的所有故障记录。这为测试失败提供了一个“即时回放”功能,并允许重现确切的失败条件,以便进行调查和根本原因分析。

测试设置

测试设置包括车载信息娱乐系统和连接到ATAM USB控制接口的一系列安卓手机,USB连接控制接口通过USB连接成为“中间人”,在信息娱乐系统的USB端口上终止。

测试设置如下图,信息娱乐系统连接到ATAM系统控制器上的USB接口。主测安卓手机被指定为设备1,连接到ATAM系统控制器上的USB设备接口。对于通话音频检查,ATAM直接连接到信息娱乐系统的麦克风阵列和音频/扬声器输出。连接辅助手机作为从手机,以显示来自信息娱乐系统的电话呼叫以及拨打电话。ATAM的手机控制接口提供了在手机上执行的普通用户功能的完全自动化控制,例如配对、拨打和接听电话。

atam-setup-aa
测试如何运行

ATAM自动连接和断开手机与信息娱乐系统USB端口连接,同时测量手机通过USB传输的电流和电压。

在通话过程中,ATAM监控音频水平的下行和上行通话音频和音频质量。测量音频质量、丢失,如检测到回声,则发起报告。在实际测试中,ATAM可连接多部手机,并使用ATAM自定义控制界面控制和监控信息娱乐系统上Android Auto的功能。

Nextgen还帮助客户从我们巨大的全球设备库精选主流的被测手机,以完全复制终端用户设备和使用情况,并通过USB和蓝牙连接到信息娱乐系统。

测试结果

在压力测试过程中,ATAM证实了消费者反馈报告,发现连接USB时并不总是检测到特定的设备。在一部分情况下,还发现音频并非总是能够正确转移到信息娱乐车机上。

使用ATAM 自动化可以快速测试多部手机的USB和蓝牙连接、断连和通话功能。设置1000次的测试周期循环,记录和识别间歇性故障条件。该测试能够在一系列手机和场景中验证和再现报告的问题。问题出现的概率低于7%—这低到足以在开发测试过程中被忽略,但高到足以解释最终用户报告问题的级别。此外,测试还发现并记录了一些以前未报告的设备特定故障。

在测试过程中,当检测到任何意外问题时,ATAM会收集多个日志。整理并归档精确的测试失败场景以及详细的手机、蓝牙和USB连接日志,以便用于调试和纠正。

结论

Nextgen ATAM自动化压力测试再现了客户报告的问题,并确定了针对观察到的问题失败的特定设备。重现故障所需的精确条件和场景对于根据收集的报告和日志定位问题的根本原因至关重要,并且能够提供建议和修复路径。

Case Study: Android Auto Stress Testing

By: Nextgen | On: Jul 21, 2020 | In: Case Studies

< All posts

How a major automotive OEM used automated Android Auto ‘stress testing’ to resolve connection issues in the field.

Android Auto is the mobile screen projection technology developed by Google to mirror features and apps from a connected Android device to the in-car infotainment head unit.

A leading automotive OEM received customer feedback on its Android Auto equipped infotainment system indicating users are experiencing problems when connecting their Android mobile device and synchronising Android Auto functions with the head unit. Detailed consumer feedback implies that the infotainment system does not always detect the phone connected to the Android Auto enabled USB port in order to instigate the Android Auto function on the infotainment system.

Additionally a further consumer field issue reported is that during an Android Auto session an outgoing call initiated from the car does not establish the uplink audio, meaning the called party does not hear any audio from the caller when answering the call.

The OEM used Nextgen ATAM automation to investigate the user feedback, deploying stress testing to explore robustness of Android Auto connections and the performance of key functions, such as calling and audio routing.  ATAM is capable of performing automated testing of Android Auto USB connections by connecting and disconnecting multiple connected Android mobile devices. The ATAM test setup is also configured to monitor audio quality and routing, audio levels, distortion and also audio stream dropouts down to a resolution of <10ms while in the call.

Any unexpected issues which occur during testing will be captured in detail. ATAM has the capability of collecting and collating a variety of logs which detail the exact circumstances of the failure. In this example ATAM logs USB protocol connections and voltages, audio system and mobile device HCI logs, network connectivity, Bluetooth and Wi-Fi activity and so creates a fully logged record of any failures for debugging. This provides an 'instant replay' function for test failures and allows the exact failure conditions to be reproduced for investigation and root cause analysis.

Test Setup

The test set up consists of the infotainment head unit and a selection of key Android mobile phones connected to the USB connection control Interface on ATAM, which becomes a 'middle man' with the USB connection then terminates on the infotainment system's USB port.

A diagram of the test setup is show below. The infotainment connects to the USB Interface on the ATAM System Controller. The primary Android mobile phone is designated as Device 1 connected to the USB device Interface on the ATAM System Controller. For the call audio checks ATAM is directly connected to the infotainment system’s microphone array and audio / speaker output. A secondary mobile phone is also connected as a slave mobile device to represent a target for calls from the infotainment system and to make incoming call functions. ATAM's phone control interfaces provide full automation control of normal user functions performed on the mobile phone, such as pairing, and making and receiving calls.

atam-setup-aa
How the Test Functions

ATAM automatically connects and disconnects the phone connection with the infotainment system USB port, also measuring the current and voltage drawn by the phone over USB.

During a phone call ATAM monitors the audio levels for the downlink and uplink call audio and measures audio quality, dropouts and reports if any echo is detected. Multiple phones will be connected over the course of testing and the functions of Android Auto on the infotainment system are controlled and monitored using an ATAM custom control interface. 

Nextgen also help to define a variety of key mobile phones drawn from Nextgen’s extensive global library of devices to fully replicate end user devices and usage. Connections to the infotainment system are made using USB and Bluetooth.

The Results

During the stress testing, ATAM confirmed the field reports finding that specific devices were not always detected upon USB connection. In a subset of cases, it was also found that audio was not always correctly routed to the infotainment head unit.

Using ATAM automation multiple phones were rapidly tested for USB and Bluetooth connection, disconnection and calling functions. The test cycles were repeated 1000’s of times, and intermittent failure conditions logged and identified. The test was able to verify and reproduce reported issues across a range of mobile devices and scenarios. The frequency of the  issues was found to be below >7% - low enough to be missed in development test process but high enough to account for the level of field issues reported by end users. Additionally some further device specific failures were found and logged which had not previously been reported.

During the test process ATAM collects multiple logs when any unexpected issues are detected. The precise test failure scenarios along with detailed phone, Bluetooth and USB connection logs are collated and filed for debugging and rectification.

Conclusion

Nextgen ATAM automation stress testing reproduced the issues reported by customers and identified specific devices that were failing for the problems observed. The precise conditions and scenarios required to reproduce the failures were central to locating the root cause of issues based on the collected reports and logs and were able to provide recommendation and a route to fix in place.

Share this post on:

Share on facebook

Share on linkedin

Share on twitter