蓝牙和Wi-Fi互操作性测试:8项检查为您的产品上市开绿灯

作者: Nextgen | 日期: 2020年12月31日 | 分类: 博客文章

< 所有文章

任何负责管理蓝牙和Wi-Fi互操作性测试的工程师都知道一个简单的事实:让一款消费产品准备上市绝非易事。

为了在严格的期限内完成任务,企业的不同团队必须在压力下团结合作。由于对生产线的声誉有重大影响,任何新产品的测试过程都必须严格、准确,并超出手动测试的相对限制。

随着产品用例的增长和复杂性的增加,自动化的蓝牙和Wi-Fi互操作性测试变得越来越重要。所以QA团队的领导者需要提供精准的测试方向。而做到这样需要对潜在的问题和最终用户可能遇到的问题有深入的了解。

bluetooth testing

尽管在过去的二十年里,蓝牙和Wi-Fi技术取得了巨大的进步,蓝牙和Wi-Fi产品近年来也在兼容性、电源要求和范围方面有了很大的改进,但目前仍存在着八个常见的互操作性问题。

使用这份8点清单,可以确保您的测试制度在产品上市之前覆盖每一个潜在的问题。

1. 设备范围

接没有明一致的可操作范

相反,它在不同的设备和不同的境中化很大。例如,在汽中,我们发现有效的牙信号度在驾驶舱内随内人数的不同而化。

即使是内部设计的特征,例如汽杯托上的金属外,也会影牙的可操作性。

2. 不一致的配置文件支持

不同的设备以不同的方式支持协议栈,尽管设备可能遵循范并认证,但是仍然存在实现上的差这导致了该领域的互操作性问题。例如,音/视频遥控模式(AVRCP)通常用于汽信息娱乐,一些AVRCP设备支持浏览媒体,而一些设备则不支持该浏览功能。当与某些设备一起使用信息娱乐的可用性生影

测试间发现正互操作性问题的原因有助于消除最的挫感。

3. 设备配对、可用性和连接问题

初始配对和建立连接是任何蓝牙连接过程的第一步。如果最初的开箱即用验不可靠,则说明产品存在致命缺陷。

一些设备定期断开连接,在某些情况下,甚至会无法重新连接。我们还发现,一些设备制造商生产的设备经过优化,可以在Android或苹果设备上运行良好 --- 一台设备的良好性能是以另一设备的良好性能为代价的。

4. Wi-Fi吞吐量

Wi-Fi数据传输速度(吞吐量)可能达不到预期,从而导致点播视频等连接服务的用户体验不佳。

其他可能影响Wi-Fi的问题包括接入点或路由的客户端身份验证问题(用户无法通过Wi-Fi连接,但原因不明),以及一般稳定性和长期连接可靠性,其中随机退出可能导致较差的下载延迟和数据延迟。

5. 不同的合规标准

在过去的二十年里,至少有六个主要的蓝牙标准迭代已经推出。这意味着,较旧的设备可能无法按照与较新产品相同的标准运行。例如,支持早期蓝牙标准的旧笔记本电脑可能检测不到新的蓝牙LE鼠标。投资于正在进行的市场调研,访问最新蓝牙设备和精选的传统产品库,是确保产品完全兼容的唯一途径。

Wi-Fi标准经历了更多的迭代。不同的Wi-Fi标准通常仍然有效,但不匹配可能会令用户失望,例如在使用旧设备连接时,无法受益于新Wi-Fi接入点支持的速度和吞吐量的提高。建立一个不同规格的Wi-Fi接入点库,测试包括旧的传统接入点以及最新类型,以确保良好的覆盖率、吞吐量和稳定性。

总而言之,检查并与最终用户沟通您的设备如何与原来的蓝牙和Wi-Fi标准构建的旧设备一起工作是至关重要的。

6. 在极端情况下数据传输缓慢

随着设备之间距离的增加,数据传输速率下降。但关键是考虑更广泛的背景。

1-2Mpbs时,Bluetooth 5/LE传输速度可能比Wi-Fi或未来的Bluetooth迭代慢得多。但是,如果1-2Mbps足够快,可以满足用户的要求,那么这很快就会成为一个次要问题。

7. 音频质量差

音频质量可能受到几个因素的影响,包括设备之间的距离、干扰(数据包丢失)和共存。同时使用Wi-Fi和蓝牙也会使设备超出其工作极限。

这可能导致延迟增加、音频流中断(注意干扰、间隙或暂停)或完全停止。

8. 不同频段的区别

Wi-Fi通道并非通用的:不同地区(例如美国和欧盟)的Wi-Fi通道不同,这意味着如果存在通道不匹配,设备设置的位置可能会对互操作性功能产生很大影响。2.4GHz Wi-Fi和蓝牙在同一频率范围内工作,因此测试两种标准的共存性能至关重要。

5Ghz Wi-FiMesh系统并非仅在5Ghz下运行,因此2.4GHz频段也仍然必不可少。5GHz系统具有多频段无线电,可在多个频段同时工作,所以2.4GHz共存测试仍然是Wi-Fi互操作性测试计划的重要组成部分。

如果设备之间的操作通道不同,则很难享受最佳Wi-Fi性能。这可能会导致来自世界不同地区的设备由于通道不匹配而无法通信,从而可能会给环球旅行的最终用户带来连接难题。

蓝牙和Wi-Fi互操作性测试:无需魔法

任何足够先进的技术都无法与魔法区分开来。

这是发明家和科幻作家Arthur C Clarke的结论。而作为QA测试人员,我们知道这个秘密其实相当有根据。这并没有什么神奇之处:只有经过深思熟虑的策略支持下的艰难辩证的、智能测试,才能将一款设备从概念带到市场。

通过这些测试将帮助您确保产品最佳的用户体验。反过来,这意味着是对你公司的声誉的好处和保护,是维持您长期成功的最佳机会。

想与Nextgen专家讨论如何通过自动化互操作性测试创造更好的产品,现在联系我们吧

Bluetooth and Wi-Fi Interoperability Testing: 8 Checks to Give Your Consumer Product the Green Light

By: Nextgen | On: Dec 08, 2020 | In: Blog Posts

< All posts

Anyone tasked with managing Bluetooth and Wi-Fi interoperability testing knows one simple truth: getting a consumer product ready to go to market is far from straightforward.

Different elements of the business must come together and coordinate under pressure to meet a strict deadline. And with major reputational impacts on the line, the testing processes of any new product must be rigorous, accurate and stretch beyond the relative limitations of manual testing.

With product use cases growing and complexity increasing, automated Bluetooth and Wi-Fi interoperability testing is now becoming essential. But QA leaders still need to provide the direction of testing. And doing so requires a deep understanding of the potential issues and problems end users may experience.

bluetooth testing

Over the last two decades, Bluetooth and Wi-Fi have made huge progress. Yet eight common interoperability issues remain present in Bluetooth and Wi-Fi products -- despite big improvements in compatibility, power demands and range over recent years.

Use this 8 point checklist to ensure your testing regime covers each potential issue before you go to market.

1. Device Range

There is no clear and consistent operable range for Bluetooth connections.

Instead, it varies significantly between devices and in different environments. In cars, for example, we have found that effective Bluetooth signal strength varies within the cockpit depending on how many people are in the car.

Even interior design features, for example metal surrounds on a car’s cup holders, can impact Bluetooth operability.

2. Inconsistent Profile Support

Different devices support the Bluetooth stack in different ways, even though devices may follow the Bluetooth  specifications and achieve certification, there still remains implementation differences that lead to interoperability issues in the field. For example, Audio/Video Remote Control Profile (AVRCP) is commonly used in car infotainment systems, some AVRCP devices support browsing of media; others do not. This can have an effect on the usability of the infotainment system when used with certain devices.

Spotting and rectifying causes of interoperability problems during testing can help to eliminate end-user frustrations.

3. Device pairing, usability and connection issues

Initial pairing and establishing a connection is the first step in any Bluetooth connection process. If the initial ‘out of the box’ experience is not reliable, a product is fatally flawed.

Some devices regularly disconnect the link and, in some cases, fail to reconnect. We have also found some device manufacturers produce units that are optimised to perform well on either Android or Apple devices - with good performance on one coming at the expense of good performance on the other.

4. Wi-Fi throughput

Wi-Fi data transmission speed (throughput) may not meet expectations, leading to poor user experiences from connected services such as on-demand video streaming.

Other challenges that can affect Wi-Fi include client authentication issues with access points or routes (where the user is unable to connect over Wi-Fi, but for no clear reason), and general stability and long-term connection reliability, where random drop-outs can lead to poor download latency and data stalling.

5. Different compliance standards

Over the last two decades, at least six major iterations of Bluetooth standards have been rolled out. That means older devices may not be operating on the same standards as newer products. For example, a new Bluetooth LE mouse may not be detected by an older laptop computer supporting earlier Bluetooth standards. Investing in ongoing market research and access to a library of both the latest Bluetooth devices and a selection of legacy products is the only way ensure full compatibility. 

Wi-Fi standards have been through even more iterations. Different Wi-Fi standards will often still work, yet mismatches may lead to user disappointment such as being unable to benefit from increased speed and throughput supported by a new Wi-Fi access point when using older devices to connect. Build a library of Wi-Fi Access Points of different specification and ensure testing includes older legacy APs as well as latest models to ensure good coverage, throughput and stability.

In summary it is crucial to check and communicate with the end user how your device operates with older devices built to previous Bluetooth and Wi-Fi standards.

6. Slow data transfer at the extremes of range

As the distance between devices increases, data rates drop. But it is crucial to consider the wider context.

At 1-2mpbs, Bluetooth 5 / LE transfer speeds may be considerably slower than Wi-Fi or future Bluetooth iterations. But if 1-2mbps is fast enough to do what the user requires, this can quickly become a side issue.

7. Poor audio quality

Audio quality can be impacted by several factors, including the distance between devices, interference (packet loss) and coexistence. Simultaneous use of Wi-Fi and Bluetooth can also push devices beyond their operating limits.

This can lead to increased latency, audio streams being interrupted (look out for interference, gaps or pauses) or completely stopped.

8.Differing frequency bands

Wi-Fi channels are not universal: they differ from region to region (for example between US and EU), meaning the location a device is set to can have a big impact on interoperability functions if there is a channel mismatch. 2.4GHz Wi-Fi and Bluetooth operate in the same frequency range so testing co-existence performance for both standards is essential.

5Ghz Wi-Fi and Mesh systems do not solely operate at 5GHz and so the 2.4GHz band also remains essential. 5GHz systems have multiband radios which operate simultaneously on multiple frequency bands, and so 2.4GHz co-existence testing remains an important component of the Wi-Fi interoperability test plan. 

Enjoying optimal Wi-Fi performance may prove difficult if the operating channels between devices are different. This can lead to devices from different parts of the world being unable to communicate due to channel mismatches, potentially causing connection headaches for globetrotting end users.

Bluetooth and Wi-Fi Interoperability Testing: No Magic Necessary

“Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.”

That was the verdict from inventor and science fiction author Arthur C Clarke. But as QA testers, we know the secret is rather more grounded. There is no magic: just hard, forensic, intelligent testing backed by a well thought through strategy to take a device from concept to market.

Working through these tests will help you to ensure the best possible user experience. In turn, that means reputational benefits and protections for your company - giving you the optimal chance of long-term success.

To speak to a Nextgen expert about how you can create better connected products with automated interoperability testing, contact us today.

Share this post on:

Share on facebook

Share on linkedin

Share on twitter